A Finland Swede in Bavaria

Sunday, 26 July 2009

The Seven Legs of Runnism

Islam builds on Five Pillars. In Buddhism, there are Four Noble Truths and the Eightfold Path. For Judaism and Christianity, the Ten Commandments form a moral foundation.

Runnism has legs, seven of them.

The Seven Legs of Runnism form the Creed of the Religion of Running.

A true Runnist

  1. lives life to the fullest

  2. values long-term health

  3. understands well-being doesn't come without sacrifice

  4. competes only against his or her earlier self

  5. improves gradually, not overnight

  6. may occasionally feel pain but seldom suffers

  7. sees running as a gift, not a burden

Runnism worships physical well-being.


  1. I aspire to be a Runnist

  2. Lesley, welcome! Follow http://twitter.com/runnism for the announcements -- runnism.com still takes time before it's live.